Our Award-winning Blog

Dear readers,

Thank you for your kind support, I am very pleased to tell you that – our blog has won an award in the UCL Research Frontiers since 1826 Contest, hurrah!

Now, let me tell you the story of this blog. It all started from a lecture by Dr Stefano Fedele two years ago, my master course lecturer at that time, now my PhD supervisor. The phossy jaw photo Dr Fedele showed is now above you on the blog banner, and the intriguing historical account he told might well have been one of the reasons for my studying PhD in the modern phossy jaw, who knows?

Since the launch of this blog, I have been surprised by the view count and the range of readers – over 2,000 views, from New Zealand to the Isle of Man; and I have received invaluable comments from historians and geneticists alike (yes, you, my dear friends!). To accommodate readers from a very diverse background, to make reading about this disgusting disease more appealing, and also with the fact that English is not my first language, I write in a simple and straight-forward style. You might also notice that I have shared with you quite some personal stories about my phossy jaw journey. Gosh, when I look back, I can’t believe I have told you TV programmes I watch and places I hang out at weekends!! But, more importantly, I hope you can feel my genuine passion about studying the past and present phossy jaw disease and sharing with you all my first-hand experiences.

Here, I would like to thank YOU for being my readers, the many archivists, librarians and historians for their kind help (I plan to donate part of the prize money to these organisations), and my supervisors for their encouragement and for allowing me to create this blog (i.e. taking up some serious research time).

Lastly, dear readers, “the best is yet to come” (I know it sounds very very cheesy): I hope to share with you some exciting results from my project soon and I will write more on the modern disease in future. Stay tuned!

Lots of love from your first-time blogger,
Polly

This entry was posted in Present disease. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

